Isle of Man Map

Situated in the Irish Sea, almost equidistant from Ireland and the UK, the Isle of Man is a self-governing, British Crown dependency.

The Island is not part of the United Kingdom but Her Majesty the Queen, is the Head of State and holds the title of Lord of Mann.

The Island’s democratic Parliament is called Tynwald, which has been in place for over 1,000 years, making it one of the most politically stable of all offshore jurisdictions.  Tynwald makes its own laws and oversees all internal administration, fiscal and social policies.  The UK Government does not legislate for the Island, except with the specific consent of the Island’s Government.  External issues, such as foreign representation and defence, are administered by the UK Government, on the Island’s behalf.

The Island is a part member of the European Union (EU) pursuant to Protocol 3, with involvement mostly relating to customs and the free movement of goods.

Contact Us

  • Cavendish Trust Company Limited
    31-37 North Quay
    Isle of Man
    IM1 4LB
  • +44 1624 679000
  • +44 1624 679500

View/Download our Brochure

© Cavendish Trust Company Limited 2018. All rights reserved. Licensed by the Isle of Man Financial Services Authority.